Fourth Bob Cave Medal for Carnovale

Christian Carnovale has won his fourth Hampton Rovers senior best & fairest, claiming the 2022 Bob Cave Medal at Saturday’s Presentation Night.

It’s the second-consecutive top honour for the Rovers captain, having won it in 2021, and previously in 2017 and 2018. Carnovale, who came second in the VAFA B&F this year, won on 106 votes, ahead of Oscar Roberts on 92. Both were also named in the 2022 VAFA Premier C Team of the Year.

The Premier-winning Senior Women’s best & fairest was won by Jasmina Andros, her first Sue Anderson Medal, while Natasha Morris won the Jodie Combe Perpetual Trophy for the best first year player and Tayla Jones was named best finals player.

Tom Galloway won the Reserves B&F, Jack Campion took out the Thirds, while the Under 19s was shared between Lucas Sharp and Hugo Lay. View the full list of award winners below.

Jamie Stanfield was awarded the Best Club Person award for 2022, thoroughly deserved for all the work he puts in.

It was the first Presentation Night in three years due to Covid and a great night to conclude the 2022 season, with a full room of 165 people at Sandy by the Bay.

Senior Men’s Awards

Best & Fairest:  Christian Carnovale (Bob Cave Medal)
Runner Up Best & Fairest:   Oscar Roberts
Most Loyal:    Ned Gray      
Most Resilient:   Lachlan  Carrigan     
Most Relentless:   Ryan Fogarty                 

Senior Women

Best & Fairest:   Jasmina Andros   (Sue Anderson Medal)
Runner Up Best & Fairest:   Emily Johnson
Best First Year Player: Natasha Morris  (Jodie Combe Perpetual Trophy Award)
Rover Of the Year:   Maegan Miller
Most Valuable Player: Stephanie Peacock
Best Finals Player: Tayla Jones        


Best & Fairest:       Tom Galloway      (Dom Devola Medal)
Runner Up Best & Fairest:     Corey Jones
Third-Placed Best & Fairest:     Johnny Wilson
Most Consistent:            Corey Jones
Most Improved:              Nicolas Assirvaden

Under 19’s

Best & Fairest:   Lucas Sharp & Hugo Lay  (McGregor Medal)
Runner Up Best & Fairest:    Hugo Garrow
Third-Placed Best & Fairest:   Alex Barton
Most Determined:       Cameron Carmeni    
Best Team Man: Jacob Beames   (Mark Johannsen Memorial Trophy)

Men’s Thirds

Best & Fairest:                         Jack Campion
Runner Up Best & Fairest:       Darcy Merlo
Most Consistent:                      Chris Ellison             
Most Determined:                   Zac Raghdo                   
Best Team Man:                      Lachlan Wheeler              

Official Website of the Hampton Rovers Amateur Football Club | Established 1929


Site by
CV Media

Rovers Newsletter


© 2024 Hampton Rovers AFC Inc | All Rights Reserved

To Top