Carnovale claims first Bob Cave

Hampton Rovers captain Christian Carnovale won his first Bob Cave Medal at the 2017 Presentation Night on Thursday 28th September at the Sandringham Yacht Club.

The Rovers skipper has had an outstanding season being a consistent stand-out performer for the green & gold, again represented the U19 Big V and is currently on tour with the VAFA representative team touring Ireland.

It was another fantastic function for the club with 180 people in attendance – making it one of the most highly attended presentation night’s in in the club’s history. The venue was sensational, food great and a wonderful time was had by all.

Peter Rogerson was awarded Life Membership. Pete had performed many roles for the club over a lengthy period and is a most worthy recipient. He becomes the third Rogerson to join the select list, alongside David and Ian.

Best Club Person was again awarded to two recipients this year – John Cesario and Jamie Stanfield. While both have done much for the club in the past, this award recognised the fact these two men played a pivotal role in the club fielding two Under 19 teams this season – something that will hold the club in good stead in future years.

Behind Christian Carnovale, the other senior team awards were presented to the next four place-getters in the best & fairest vote count: Roland DeBiase, Luke Deville, Adam McNeil and Josh Pavlou.

The inaugural Sue Anderson Medal for the Women’s Best & Fairest was shared between two players, with Maxine Behnke and Kristy Ebbott finishing year on equal votes. Chloe McLaren was next best and Taylan Merrick claimed the first Jodie Combe Perpetual Shield awarded to the best first-year player.

Rory Lynch claimed the Reserves best & fairest while Scott Ebbott won his second-successive McGregor Medal for the U19 firsts B&F and Harrison Crisp claimed the Mark Johannsen Memorial Shield. Ash Hoar won the best & fairest for the U19 Two’s.

The club congratulates all award winners and thanks everyone for their attendance on the night and support throughout the season.


Best & Fairest – Christian Carnovale (Bob Cave Medal)
Runner Up Best & Fairest – Roland DeBiase
3rd Placed Best & Fairest – Luke Deville
4th Placed Best & Fairest – Adam McNeil
5th Placed Best & Fairest – Josh Pavlou

Best & Fairest – Maxine Behnke & Kristy Ebbott (Sue Anderson Medal)
Runner Up Best & Fairest – Sarah Cleary
3rd Placed Best & Fairest – Chloe McLaren
Best 1st Year Player – Taylan Merrick (Jodie Combe Perpetual Shield)

Best & Fairest – Rory Lynch – (Dom Devola Medal)
Runner Up Best & Fairest – Shem Curry
3rd Placed Best & Fairest – Thom McCarthy
Most Consistent – Luke Morcom
Best Team Man – Darcy Merlo

Best & Fairest – Scott Ebbott (McGregor Medal)
Runner Up Best & Fairest – Sam Gall
3rd Placed Best & Fairest – Steve Raymer
Most Determined – Liam McCartney
Best Team Man – Harrison Crisp (Mark Johannsen Memorial Trophy)

Best & Fairest – Ash Hoar
Runner Up Best & Fairest – Will Wood
3rd Placed Best & Fairest – Corey Jones
Most Improved – Sam Callaghan
Best Team Man – Adrian Hug

Life Membership – Peter Rogerson
Best Club Person – John Cesario & Jamie Stanfield

Official Website of the Hampton Rovers Amateur Football Club | Established 1929


Site by
CV Media

Rovers Newsletter


© 2024 Hampton Rovers AFC Inc | All Rights Reserved

To Top