Fletch Rovers best for 2009

Leigh Fletcher won his first Bob Cave Medal taking out the senior best and fairest at Saturday’s Hampton Rovers Presentation Night at The Powerhouse.

It caps of a great season for Leigh who also finished runner-up in the VAFA B Section best and fairest count. Finishing the season with 112, he polled votes in 13 of the 18 games and reached double figures in 7 of those. Runner-up was Ryan Semmel on 95 while last years winner Mark Devereaux was third with 73 votes.

Jesse Donald took out the Reserves best and fairest, Ed Turner who was best on ground in the Grand Final won the Under 19’s, while Liam Woodland won the inaugural Thirds best and fairest count.

The Hampton Rovers Presentation Night was another great event for the club and finished what has been a great year for the club in style. The night included the closing stages of the best and fairest vote counts and team awards for each of the four senior teams. All the Under 19’s got up on stage for a photo opportunity with their premiership cup, and departing senior coach Gary Sheldon gave an emotional final speech and received a standing ovation by everyone in attendance.

Gary Carr accepted the life membership medallion on behalf of his father, Graham, who was a great servant and tireless volunteer of the Hampton Rovers Football Club over many years. Cameron Voss was awarded best clubman for 2009.

A great night was had by all and the club thanks everyone for their support and attendance. Below is a full list of awards presented on the night. Full season votes for the four teams will be available on the website during the week.


Best & Fairest:
Leigh Fletcher (Bob Cave Medal)
Runner-up B&F: Ryan Semmel
Most Determined: Jay Ting
Most Consistent: Gary Carr
Best Utility: Mark Devereaux
Coaches Award: Anton Duddy

Best & Fairest:
Jesse Donald (Dom Devola Medal)
Runner-up B&F: Lachlan Wheeler
Most Determined: Ben Kezilas
Most Courageous: Matt Law
Best Team Player: Alex Ross

Best & Fairest:
Ed Turner (McGregor Medal)
Dual Runner-up B&F: Jesse Lovig
Dual Runner-up B&F: Tom Youl
Most Valuable Player: Richard Atkins (Mark Johannsen Trophy)
Most Courageous: Brendon Culvenor
Most Determined: Russell Howe
Coaches Award: Jack Massie

Best & Fairest:
Liam Woodland
Runner-up B&F: Elies El Chaar
Best Team Player: Nathan Foster

Best Clubman:
Cameron Voss
Life Membership: Graham Carr

CLICK HERE to view full 2009 Best and Fairest votes.

Official Website of the Hampton Rovers Amateur Football Club | Established 1929


Site by
CV Media

© 2024 Hampton Rovers AFC | All Rights Reserved

To Top